Shaun of the Dead and Toy Story Birthday Cupcakes

3 Oct

For my boyfriend’s birthday I decided to surprise him by making cupcakes. I made him cupcakes inspired by Shaun of the Dead and Toy Story. 

I can’t take credit for the Little Green Men cupcakes – I got the idea straight from Disney.com. However, I could choose what kind of cupcakes I wanted to make. I chose Dark Chocolate Mocha.

For Shaun of the Dead cupcakes, I thought of the decorations myself, and made Rum and Coke cupcakes.

Here we go!

1. LGM Dark Chocolate Mocha Cupcakes

I did not know baking was so expensive! I had to buy all of the ingredients, as well as the candy toppings. Here is the recipe (from Cate’s World Kitchen):

3/4 cup cake flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup cocoa powder
4 tablespoons butter, melted [unsalted butter!]
1/3 cup buttermilk
1 large egg
1 egg white
2 teaspoons vanilla
3 tablespoons strong coffee (or three tablespoons warm water mixed with 1 tablespoon instant coffee)

Like usual, I made some changes. First, I multiplied the recipe by 1.5. Since I’m on a (slight) health kick, I used half wheat flour and half white flour. I also used raw sugar instead of white sugar, 2% instead of buttermilk and finally, Starbucks Columbia VIA instead of regular coffee.

I made homemade cream cheese icing to put on top, as I needed the icing to be green, not mocha brown. I coloured the icing with “Nuclear Green” food colouring I found at Ming Wo (heaven for bakers):

Then I had to prepare the toppings. You use mints for the eyes, green apple sour straws for the antenna, and sour green apple belts for the ears.

I used tiny leaf fondant cutters for the ears. Unfortunately, the ears were different shades of green than the antennas. Oh, well. I cut out the antennas, making them 2″ in length.

When the cupcakes were done, I decorated them! I used black gel icing for the detail.

2. Shaun’s Rum and Coke Cupcakes

These are something they would sell at the Winchester! I used this recipe for the Rum and Coke cupcakes, with the same changes as above to the flour and milk:

3 cups cake flour, sifted

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

4 eggs

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

2 cups brown sugar, lightly packed

1 cup Classic Coca-Cola (not diet)

1/4 cup dark rum

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

½ cup whole milk

I just used store-bought vanilla icing.

For Shaun’s shirt and tie cupcakes, I bought sour cherry belts and cut them into ties 4cm long, 1.5 cm wide. I also cut out squares for the nametag.

For the cricket bat cupcakes, I cut Twix bars in half and used icing to add a handle and blood.

The cupcakes themselves didn’t turn out that well—I couldn’t taste the rum at all and there was only a bit of coke flavour. Perhaps I’ll add more of each next time.

Ta da!

One Response to “Shaun of the Dead and Toy Story Birthday Cupcakes”

  1. TheVanillaDuck October 5, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    Ha Brilliant! Very cool!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

